Ben Hurst is the 2017 Team Canada Scholarship Winner

By: Team Canada Scholarship
September 28, 2017

The seventh edition of the Team Canada Scholarship will see the recently crowned Toyo Tires Championship winner Ben Hurst head to Brands Hatch as the Team Canada driver for 2017. The talented young driver started the season off in fine style with a win at Homestead Raceway in Florida at the SCCA Majors event amongst a deep field of drivers. Following a second stateside event at VIR in April which also produced some great results, Hurst announced that the 2017 season would include a serious run for the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship. Hurst accomplished his goal of the championship title, scoring 5 wins, 8 runner up finishes and recorded the most pole position runs over the campaign.

"We are delighted to announce Ben as our TCS winner, he has really developed this season into a winner and made progress with every event. This opportunity will no doubt be another chance for him to learn in a totally different arena and expand his resume as he continues his career in racing. " comments Team Canada Scholarship founder Brian Graham.

The historic Brands Hatch venue will once again be the home for the Formula Ford Festival and as always the TCS will be partnered with Cliff Dempsey Racing. Testing will begin Wednesday, October 18 with the official event commencing Friday, October 20 through to the final on Sunday, October 22.

The TCS is completely funded by sponsors and donations and would not be possible without the partners who support the program. We are pleased to welcome back many supporters and also proud to welcome a few new partners for 2017. Many thanks go to Hallman Construction, Rod Ends Mechanical, TM Motorsports, Calabogie Motorsports Park, De Angelis Construction, Canadian Tire Motorsports Park, The Toyo Tires F1600 Championship and the OFFC, Formula Tour 1600 Series, Brian Graham Racing, Bollenbach Insurance Brokers, Braidan Motorsport, BARC-OC, Antara Marketing International, and CMV Monoplaces Inc.

Team Canada boasts a healthy alumni list who continue to find success as they showcase their talents competing accross North America. Parker Thompson, the most recent TCS driver, competed in the USF2000 Championship and finished 3rd with 3 wins enjoying a very solid season. Scott Hargrove and Zacharie Robichon finished 1-2 in the Porsche GT3 Cup Championship with the pair combining to win every single race. Garett Grist scored podium finishes in the WeatherTech Sportscar PC class including the 12 Hours of Sebring. Xavier Coupal finished runner up in the Nissan Micra Cup after winning the championship in 2016. Both Chase Pelletier and Michael Adams continue to search for opportunities that will allow them to get back on track as they are both very talented and deserving young drivers.

As always we will be doing interviews, posting results, and doing our best to keep our supporters up to date with our week and encourage everyone to follow along with us.

For all the action follow us on the following:

Twitter: @teamcanadaschol